Liberal Wacko, Montana Division


So I’m a jerk. So what?
October 26, 2006, 12:34 am
Filed under: Democrats, Legislators, Right wing talking points, The Future, vote for me

Last night I attended a candidate forum put on by the League of Women Voters in Belgrade. I have no in-depth analysis for you, just some impressions.

First of all, I will piss off the Democrats by saying that if I lived in SD35, I would vote for Senator Gary Perry (R).  Why? I just like the guy. He seems to be a decent man not given to spouting off Republican talking points. I am not familiar with his voting record, so if he has done something outrageous, feel free to point it out. However I will always support the best person for the job, regardless of party affiliation.

Roger Koopman (R-HD70) is a blowhard bullshit artist who thinks the Earth is about 6,000 years old. Not only that, he voted against maintaining high water mark stream access, and fully funding the Children’s Health Insurance Program. He thinks parents ought to just make enough money to pay for insurance themselves. Roger, do you think that the moon is made of green cheese? Just wondering.

Jack Wells (R-HD69) thinks he is John friggen Wayne.

Loren Acton, who is running against Jack Wells, is a rocket scientist. Seriously. He has been to space. He opened by saying that we should be thinking seven generations ahead when legislating. Mr. Acton wants to make it honorable to be a politician, and I have no doubt that he could do it. He was by far the most impressive candidate in the forum.

The intrepid Renae Jones stepped up to take the place of the elusive Jackson Cyr, who has withdrawn from the race. She is opposing the Republican who currently represents HD67.

Scott Sales (R-HD68) wore a bolo tie.

His opponent Laura Obert seemed oddly out of place in this group. There is no doubt in my mind she would be a hard working legislator.

John Vincent quoted Ronald Reagan. Koopman or Vincent. Well, at least Vincent isn’t nuts.

The Democrats in the forum named their top priorities almost unanimously as healthcare and energy independence.

Republicans top priorities include guns and “fiscal responsiblity.”

A good time was had by all (except for that part where someone accused me of being a jerk). Remember, you can register to vote at your local courthouse up to and including election day.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Scott has some endorsements and observations about state legislative candidates after attending a candidate forum. […]

Pingback by Links… « 4&20 blackbirds

oh man, i wish i would’ve known about that. I’ve been anxious to see Jack Wells, my representive. I’ve never seen him, nor heard him speak. He’s very elusive in his home district. Go Acton!

Comment by troutburst

A bit more about Laura Obert: She is an atrist, attended MSU, and was on top of the issues. I found her to be very sincere, and capable of independent thought, not just toeing the party line. She would be an excellent legislator.

Comment by Scott

I also thought that Laura Obert was a top notch choice for legislator.

Comment by grannyinsanity




Leave a Reply

