Liberal Wacko, Montana Division


Knock, knock. Who’s there?
September 27, 2006, 2:22 am
Filed under: Legislators

I was visited this evening my representative, Mr. John Sinrud. He was doing doors and happened upon my liberally decorated yard, so he stopped by. (John, my wife was trying to take a nap, dammit!) We talked for a few minutes. He was cordial and engaging.

He asked me why I must be so mean to him and his wife on my blog… I wrote nothing that wasn’t true John, and if that is “being mean” perhaps it is time for some introspection.

But that is not what I want to talk about.

John told me of a bill he intends to carry in the next legislature that would impose jail time on fathers who fail to pay their delinquent child support within 30 days of recieving a letter from the state, warning of their delinquency. (please correct any inaccuracy I may print here, John.) Why John picked this particular subject, I am unsure. My lovely wife, now awakened from her nap, challenged Mr. Sinrud to represent fathers who are denied visitation, as well as mothers who are denied their child support.

Here is where it gets personal. And it must get personal, because government impacts peoples lives.

If the father of a child fails to pay support as ordered by a court, he is subject to penalty. The laws vary from state to state, as do the penalties. Most states fail miserably to enforce child support orders. Fathers should pay child support. I do not dispute this. I pay child support every month, on time, in full, without fail. Why? Because of a law? No, because it is my responsibility. But the mother of the child or children should be held to JUST AS STRICT OF STANDARDS when it comes to visitation. But it is not so. How do I know? Well folks, it’s personal. But I’m certain you can figure it out. Society wants fathers to “be there” but provides no recourse for those that are there, but are denied. Unless of course you wish to hire an attorney and get real nasty. But what good father is going to put their child through that if the child is in no danger? Sure as hell not me. And you will notice that I did not use the term “custodial parent,” as it is almost always the mother, regardless of circumstance.

Anyway…

John, you told me that you hate the nasty partisan tone that rules politics today. I don’t believe you. I have heard you speak enough times to know better. If Democrats were as bad as you say, this state would be in deep trouble right now. It isn’t. My taxes would have increased due to their policies. Hasn’t happened. Gay people would be destroying families even as I write this. But they aren’t. My guns would be outlawed! But I still have ’em, and nobody wants to take ’em away. All hell would be breaking lose due to their complete inability to make policy. But, John, we are doin’ pretty good, ain’t we?

So if I am wrong, prove me wrong. Tell me about some good things Democrats did in the last session. Hell,  just one example will do. I heard Bill Warden say good things about the Democrats once, so I’m sure you’ve got it in you.

And remember, what you do in Helena impacts peoples lives. Real people like you and me.

And thanks for stopping by. I always appreciate seeing my representative.

Go Tester!

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My thoughts go out to you, man. I
can’t imagine not being able to see
my boys every day. I commend you on
your legal restraint for the sake
of your child. I’m not sure I could
endure it.

Comment by TMM

Uhhhm, a question: If the point of enforcing child support is to make certain that the child is financially cared for, how will imprisoning the delequent payer help the child? Does that make any sense? That’s like banks charging you more money if you overdraft because you have no money. In the world I live in, I like to call that “counter-productive”.

But to be honest, I’ve found most of John Sinrud’s actions and speaking in the legislature to be extremely counter-productive. I’m am hartened to know that he is at least consistent.

Comment by Wulfgar

[…] Guess who visits Liberal Wacko? Our favorite GOP state representative, John Sinrud. […]

Pingback by Links… « 4&20 blackbirds

You get Sinrud, I get Wacko Koopman. Someone else gets Bayleat, and it’s not even Haloween yet.

Comment by markt

I have Balyeat as well. Lucky me.

Comment by Scott

Hey, Wacko, I actually agree with you a hundred percent about something.

The mother of the child should be held to just as strict of standards when it comes to visitation. Darn right!

For me, it’s actually not really personal. But it’s still important.

Because, when a conservative uses the word, it’s automatically assumed we’re using in a derogatory way, I won’t say feminist. But the rhetoric of the pro-women’s-rights movement of the seventies and eighties was quite clear. Pregnancy is a fifty-fifty proposition.

The problem is, that rhetoric is not lived up to at all. On custody, it’s almost always the mother who has it. In the rare case that a mother does not get custody, child support awards are done much differently.

And then there’s the abortion issue. On this issue, the pro-life folks would sneer at my liberal position, and the pro-choice people would call me a dinosaur nazi. But if anyone tries to tell me abortion is handled like a fifty-fifty deal, they’re just not paying attention.

All politicians who talk about issues of child-rearing need to at least remember that there’s a pro-male side of the equation too. All men are not deadbeats.

Comment by NeoMadison

Neo’s abortion argument is absurd.
I’m pretty sure that pregnancy isn’t a fifty-fifty deal.

Comment by Pogie

My wife would agree, Pogie.

Comment by Scott

Do you have any information on (D) paul clark’s behavioral summer wilderness program (called galena ridge) his past amendment of sexual offense laws and his current attempt to write opposing legislation to Senator Trudi Schmidt’s oversight bill for the state’s alternative youth programs? I have a personal, urgent interest in any information you can give.

Comment by Allejandra Noelle

Family Law Library Adoption Assets and Debts Attorney- Client Relationship Current Events Divorce and Separation Child Custody and Visitation Child Support and Alimony Choosing a Guardian for Your Children Divorce Mediation Getting a Divorce Property Division Family Law Basics Financial Issues Marriage Living Together-

Comment by win child custody

Clark’s bills in the legislature strengthed sexual offense laws by making sexual abuse of children a crime of violence and he extendes the statute of limitations for rape and sexual abuse. He also carried the bill that started the process of licensing the at-risk programs in Montana

Comment by Fred Stark

Hello all, I don’t know if this forum will help me, but I am grasping at straws and desperate. I am being taken back to court by my ex-husband (who I filed a CSED modification on) as he does not want to pay an increase in child support. He went from being unemployed to working for UPS in 2001, an increase of 377% in income. At that time he did not file a financial affidavit with CSED and I am wondering if there are any laws, cases, etc. that I can take with me to court as I am going to try and get some arrerages (to help my daughter with college) as her father says he will not assist her (quote: it is not my legal obligation nor her god given right to go to college). Thanks for all comments.

Comment by Patty

I’ll right away clutch your rss as I can not find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me recognise so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

Comment by Birgit Skeele

Its such as you learn my mind! You seem to grasp so much approximately this, like you wrote the e book in it or something. I feel that you could do with some p.c. to power the message home a bit, however instead of that, that is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

Comment by Viki Nevison




Leave a Reply

