Liberal Wacko, Montana Division


I am in a frenzy of fear and loathing (not)
September 7, 2006, 1:55 am
Filed under: Fear
 

Why am I not afraid?

I have listened carefully to our president and his advisors. It seems that if I am not afraid the terrorists will overrun the U.S.A. They want to kill us, therefore we must kill them.

I have heard the message of the right wing talk shows, blogs, and media. I should fear the ACLU, gay people, scientists, and religions other than Christianity, among other groups. As a Democrat, I want to take my own guns away from myself, and raise my own taxes. I should be afraid of myself and those like me.

I have stood on the edge of the World Trade Center site, and felt the anguish and sorrow of the horrible thing that happened there, yet I experienced a city populated by people who are unafraid, vibrant, and diverse. They made me feel hope when I should have felt terror.

I will never forget what happened that day, and I will honor those that lost their lives on September 11, 2001 by living without fear.

Why am I not afraid?

Because the terrorists lost.

How did the terrorists lose?

Because I am not afraid.

Won’t you join me in defeating the terrorists?

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think you have fallen for our
President’s incorrect use of the
language – specifically, the “war
on terror”. I don’t think the
terrorists’ specific aim is for us
to be afraid. I think their specific
aim is for us to be dead. As for me,
I’ll join you in not being afraid.
Will you join me in supporting the
demise of those who would kill us?

Comment by TMM

I will join you in not being afraid or terrorist. I have a lot more to fear, a lot of things that are very real:

1. I am afraid that one of my daughters might someday try meth. What if they do and never stop? How many people die from this as compared to terrorism?

2. I am afraid that some drunk driver might crash into me on my way home. How would my wife and children get by without me?

3. I am afraid that someone hopped up on meth or crack might hurt my wife and children. What would I do without them?

4. I am afraid that someone I love my get AIDS or cancer.

These fears are real and tangible. These things all happen and kill millions of Americans. I don’t focus on these fears daily though because I want to enjoy my time with my family, not live in fear.

I will stand with you and NOT live in fear.

Comment by Shane Mason

Terrorism.

Using violence or the threat of violence to bring about political change.

The terrorists used violence in an attempt to change us. The republican party gave in to them, using the fear of more terrorist attacks to get people to vote for them, and to justify the invasion of a country that had nothing to do with 9/11, and posed no threat to the U.S.

“Be afraid!” is the cry of the Republican party.

I want to see the demise of those who would kill us, but we will not stop terrorism through violence.

Comment by wackolib

I can concur inasfar as I hope none
of the above happens to any of us.
My point of agreement is, as Wako Lib says, we
shouldn’t be afraid. My point of
contention is that there are many
souls out there who want us dead.
Do we have to be afraid of that?
No.
Should we do something about it?
Yes.

Comment by TMM

By the way, why does my text in the
comment box dissappear if I don’t
hit enter at the end of each of
these lines?

Comment by TMM

“why does my text in the
comment box dissappear if I don’t
hit enter at the end of each of
these lines?”

I don’t know…I am still mystified by some of the behaviors of this blog template.

After 9/11 I was ready for anything. I would have gladly fought to defend our country. But then I watched in horror as the president and congress perverted patriotism to fit their political agenda. I watched our government throw away the best chance we will ever have to bring the world and the country together. Such an incredible, inexplicable waste.

Comment by wackolib

Well, it certainly has divided us,
I’ll give you that. Good luck with
the template.

Comment by TMM




Leave a Reply

